Churches and Bell Towers

IMG_1770

Because of a friend’s delight at finding red church doors, and because of a Christmas project for said friend that ensued shortly after, I have a fleeting obsession with the beauty of “religious” churches. Now, I forget the name of this church and the denomination that it is, but I really feel that it is a shame that all the grand churches are the ones ย where people are stuffy and religiously repetitious.

IMG_1784

I feel that churches are slighted these days. They are gorgeous shells of exteriors and they may have nothing spiritual or Christ-centered on the inside. Just like you can’t judge a book by it’s cover, you can’t judge a church by the steeple. The most humble of churches might have the most presence of the Lord and the grandest of churches may have little or no presence of Holy Spirit. The church of Christ isn’t a grand building or a small building. My house can be a church if they presence of God and fellow believers are there. As Jesus said, “Where two or more are gathered in my name, there will I be also.” (paraphrased)

Since this recent interest in stately churches, I might do a photo series on churches. If I do decide to, I will post it on my Instagram account. Feel free to check it out sometime. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

