Missions – Near and Far

IMG_1676

My mind today has been everywhere from Italian to college homework to a cleanse that I am on for 17 days and how much I want a bagel with cream cheese when it’s all over. But, after all this scattered thinking, the Lord settled my mind on one thing – mission work. Recently, I have been completely inspired by Amy Carmichael, Catherine Booth, and Elisabeth Elliot. If you don’t know who these women are, they are very influential, whole-hearted servants of the Lord. Look up their biographies if you get the chance – truly life-changing.

So as I have been thinking about these women for the past few weeks, Jesus impressed on my mind even clearer today that He has something for me in missions. I have this new-found desire to seek the Lord like these women. Completely and fully, surrendering everything to Him and letting Him lead. Each of the aforementioned women gave up something huge in order to do what God told them to do. Amy Carmichael gave up her lifestyle and her hometown, uprooting everything to go to Africa and minister to the women and children there. Elisabeth Elliot gave up her fleshly desire to be hateful when her husband was murdered by a native tribe in Auca. Catherine Booth gave up any time she might have to herself and any temptation to complain when her health was continuing to deteriorate in order to serve the Lord by serving fellow women and helping to start the Salvation Army.

In my own life, I find that I don’t usually sacrifice a lot. I have a good life with a lot of blessings that most people don’t have. I don’t know what the Lord has in store for me, but I know that something big is coming soon. He’s calling me to serve Him and live a surrendered life like these women. Knowing the Jesus knows about me and knows what I will do in life for Him, gives me the inspiration to keep on doing things like college, violin, cleanses, and Italian. By continuing to do the little things, God will be preparing my heart for the bigger things He has in store for me.

Luke 19:17 “And he said unto him, Well, thou good servant: because thou hast been faithful in a very little, have thou authority over ten cities.”

Leave a Reply

